GPIO pins not working

Hello,
It is my first post here and I am a novice when it comes to SBC’s and Linux, so please excuse any mistakes made.

I have made a small breadboard circuit which consists of a 20mA LED with a resistor. That is then connected to a 2n222 transistor, with a resistor attached to the base for a voltage of 3.3v.
I have connected the base to a GPIO pin on the Le Potato (pin 36), but when connected, it makes the led only turn slightly on. (around 10-20% to my eyes) I was expecting it to surely power the LED especially with the LED’s power being handled by a external power supply. When I used lgpio to change the state of the GPIO pin, no change happened between states 0 and 1. I have tried rebuilding the circuit, replacing parts, changing GPIO pins but to no avail.

If anyone has had a similar issue and know of a fix to this, please let me know.
Thanks!

Should be able to blink an LED with just a resistor, and without the transistor, just to make sure they’re working.

What are the resistor values and the Vf of the LED? If the resistance is too high it will dim the LED.

Have you tested the circuit with the 3.3V and Ground pins?

Exactly what command did you run to change the state of the pin?

Hello, thank you for your quick response.
After testing the circuit with just the LED and resistor, the circuit seems to work fine.

The transistor is common and I had followed a guide on YouTube for the transistor circuit. The resistor is at 330 ohms. As he had released all calculations, and partially due that I had purchased a third party set of multiple types of NPN and PNP transistors, I don’t have the exact data sheet, although any you find on the internet should be fine. I have tested the transistor circuit with push buttons and it seems to work fine. The command I ran to change the value of the GPIO pin is: sudo lgpio set 36=1 and sudo lgpio set 36=0.