Lifepo4wered UPS & Le Potato Running Raspbian

Background
I am installing a Le Potato on my network to run Pi Hole. To prevent the SD card from getting corrupted during a power outage, I decided to get a UPS for the Le Potato. Doing some research I found this intelligent UPS hat on LiFePO4wered.com. It comes with a daemon that can be installed on Raspbian which communicates with the hat over I2C.

Disclaimer
I am just a hobbyist with no affiliation to Libre Computer or LiFePO4wered. I can’t guarantee that these steps will work for everyone, but I just wanted to share the steps I took, to make it easier for anyone who wants to do something similar.

1. Le Potato Setup

1. Install and boot Raspbian on the Le Potato and configure it how you want. (I setup SSH, and installed Pi-Hole at this stage.)

2. To communicate with the HAT you will need to enable the I2C wrapper. To do this run the following command:

sudo ldto merge i2c-ao

1. (optional) The controller in the Lifepo4wered hat monitors the TX pin (pin 8) on the 40 pin header to determine if the SBC has shutdown before dropping power to it. Unfortunately due to how the boot loader operates in the Le Potato, I could not get this feature to work. But if you do need to use the UART pins for your project, you can enable the UART wrapper using the command below. Just be sure to follow the extra configuration step 3. LiFePO4wered Configuration/Step 5

sudo ldto merge uart-a

1. Reboot your Le Potato to enable I2C and the optional UART headers.

2. LiFePO4wered Daemon Setup

1. Follow the Readme instructions at the link below, up to the make commands.

GitHub - xorbit/LiFePO4wered-Pi: Access library, command line tool and daemon for the LiFePO4wered/Pi module

sudo apt update && sudo apt-get -y install build-essential git libsystemd-dev
git clone https://github.com/xorbit/LiFePO4wered-Pi.git
cd LiFePO4wered-Pi/